Shana Booker | NBA Philadelphia 76’ers Marketing Manager/Director of Almuni Relations | Philadelphia, PA

When did you get started in your field?

  •  I accepted my first marketing job 12 years ago with the Sixers.
 When did you “know” you wanted to do what you do?
  • I always knew I wanted to be on marketing, just as much as I knew it had to be in entertainment, sports, fashion or some similar field.
 Biggest obstacle you faced in your career?
  • The biggest obstacle I faced was being a woman in a heavily male dominated field on and off the court.
 Do you find it hard to be a woman in your field?
  • It’s a challenge as a young woman of you aren’t prepared personally and professionally. Luckily for me I had a strong mentor in my field to help me along the way.
 Biggest milestone in your career/life?
  • I don’t feel like I’ve accomplished my biggest milestone yet….but it’s coming. I have however been blessed enough to be recognized as a future leader in Philadelphia from some prestigious organizations in the city as well as plan and execute the retirement ceremony for a future hall of famer.
 How is your dating life?
  • I’m single, but dating is hard. You have to find someone who understands the time dedicated to your grind.
 Advice for young women wanting to get into the sports/entertainment field?
  • If you want to be in this field, you have to make a decision that time and sacrifice come first, money and true success later.
 Some advice you feel the younger generation should know as they embark on their careers?
  • Be able to multi-task, these days most people that succeed have multiple things going on to achieve success.
  • Be reliable, be there before the expect you, think ahead of them.
  • Network, be able to hold a conversation comfortably with anyone and meet as many people as you can.
 Things you cannot leave the house without?
  • I cannot leave the house without my phone! A pen (phones die and you never know you’ll meet that you will need to get their contact info) and a good set of shoes (shoes can make or break your attire)
 Favorite mobile apps?
  • My favorite apps are iBooks for reading on the go. Pandora for work and play. Instagram, you can actually meet and connect with people as well as gather ideas.
Advice for aspiring power play women?
  • My advice is to be a sponge. Soak up as much information about your field as you can, read about it, talk about it and then do it.
Three words to live by:
Driven. Focused. Passionate

Leave a comment